Tshwane University of Technology Contacts

Tshwane University of Technology Logo

Tshwane University of Technology Contacts

Pretoria Campus

Contact Centre: 086 110 2421
Switchboard: 086 110 2422
Main Tel: 012 382 5911
012 382 5114
e-mail for general enquiries: general@tut.ac.za

Private Bag X680
Pretoria 0001
Staatsartillerie Road, Pretoria West

To apply for study at TUT, SMS TUT, your name, the course you want to do and your e-mail address to 41794


Directions to TUT campuses

Tel:  012 382 0711
Fax: 012 382 1166
Private Bag X680
Pretoria 0001

Soshanguve Campus

Tel:  012 382 9000
Fax: 012 382 0966
Private Bag X680
Pretoria 0001

Mbombela Campus

Tel:  013 745 3500
Fax: 013 745 3512
Private Bag X11312
Mbombela 1200

Polokwane Campus

Tel:  015 287 0700
Fax: 015 297 7609
Private Bag X9496
Polokwane 0700
109 Market Street

eMalahleni Campus

Tel:  013 653 3100
Fax: 013 653 3164
PO Box 3211
eMalahleni 1035
Corner of Swartbos and President Streets

Tel:  012 382 5911
Fax: 012 382 6210
Private Bag X680
Pretoria 0001
Nelson Mandela Drive

Arts Campus
Tel:  012 382 6175
Fax: 012 382 6175
Private Bag X680
Pretoria 0001
Corner of Du Toit and Struben Streets

The Tshwane University of Technology (TUT) is a proud product of South Africa’s first decade of democracy. While the size and scope of this dynamic new institution impress, the quality of its teaching, research and community engagement is what makes the University really stands out.

TUT was established on 1 January 2004, with the merging of the former Technikon Northern Gauteng, Technikon North-West and Technikon Pretoria. At the time of the merger, the uniquely South African institutional designation of “technikon” was dropped in favour for the internationally accepted “university of technology” designation.

This new mega-institution annually enrols approximately 60 000 students. Its student body is one of the most demographically representative in the country in terms of both race and gender, reflecting the Rainbow Nation in all its diversity. With almost 22 per cent of contact students accommodated in residences, the University is by far the largest residential higher education institution in Southern Africa.

Its geographic footprint covers four of South Africa’s nine provinces – Gauteng, Mpumalanga, Limpopo and the North-West Province – with campuses located in Tshwane (Pretoria, Soshanguve and Ga-Rankuwa), Mbombela (previously called Nelspruit), eMalahleni (previously called Witbank) and Polokwane (previously called Pietersburg). Large numbers of students are also drawn from other provinces and from neighbouring countries such as Botswana, Zimbabwe, Namibia and Swaziland.

Staff members
TUT employs more than 2 700 permanent staff members, including almost 855 highly qualified permanent academics. These academics are increasingly focusing on conducting applied research and community engagement activities in addition to their instructional roles. Caring for the underprivileged, the upliftment of people and assisting those in need are key elements of the University’s community engagement strategy.